An Indolent Father

by Angela Gorgas, modern bromide print from original negative, 1977

by Angela Gorgas, modern bromide print from original negative, 1977

Right now I am reading an interview with Martin Amis, in The Paris Review, No. 151, 1998. The interviewer asked, discussing the relationship between Martin Amis and his father, Kingsley Amis):

Did you ever discuss writing with him when you began?

Amis:

Not really. He was brilliantly indolent: he never gave me any encouragement at all. I later realized how valuable and necessary that was. I know one or two writers who’ve encouraged their children to write and it’s a completely hollow promise, to return to the more or less unique situation of my father and me, literary talent isn’t inherited.

Simple as that. Posted from WordPress for Android

